xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Mame Noob...  (Read 99 times)

00g

• Archived User
Mame Noob...
« on: October 27, 2005, 11:28:00 AM »

I have a game that appears to be divided into 13 different files with the extensions starting with .u (.u3, .u4, .u10, .u11, .u12 etc)

What do I do with these?

This is my first attempt at playing MAMEOX game.

Thraxen

• Archived User
Mame Noob...
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2005, 11:52:00 AM »

Most MAME games have a lot of files like that and they need to be zipped together and the zip needs to have the proper name.

00g

• Archived User
Mame Noob...
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2005, 12:00:00 PM »

Wow. You seem to reply to a lot of my threads. lol Thanks.

How does the .zip file have to be named?
Mine's named thegrid.zip, and inside that zip folder are the 13 U files. I've hit the "Scan for Roms" button, and it finds nothing.

Thraxen

• Archived User
Mame Noob...
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2005, 12:21:00 PM »

Well, that is the proper name, but that game won't work anyway.  Check this list out:  Link

That is the current list of games supported in the PC version of MAME.  You can find the actual full name of the game on the left hand side and the last column is the ROM's zip name.  But the most important column is the first one after the full name (2nd column).  That column tells you whether or not the game currently works in MAME.  If you look at "The Grid" you will see it listed as "No".  That list gets updated each time MAME gets an update and as you can see at the very top it is for MAME version 0.101u3.  The most recent XBox versions are built around an older version of MAME, 0.84.