xboxscene.org forums

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Pics To Help Identify Modchip?  (Read 1243 times)

browll

• Archived User
Pics To Help Identify Modchip?
« on: March 17, 2013, 01:42:00 PM »

hi. i was wondering if anyone knew of a site with pics for older type xecuter modchips? i need to determine that the chip i have in my old xbox i purchased pre modded in 2002 is actually an xecuter like the guy who sold it to me told me it was.
 other old chips made before that don't seem to support installing larger hard drives. i don't know of any other way to check what chip i have other than to open the cosole and look but i cant find pics of genuine xecuters.
 i expect it to be an xecuter 1.0 or 1.1. i want to confirm i have a compatible chip before changing attempting to change the hard drive and mess the xbox up or something.
 any help would be great guys. i'm new to this upgrading the xbox stuff unfortunatly (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

Heimdall

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 01:59:00 PM »

Start here.

It's not older chips that don't support larger hard drives, it's the BIOSes they contain. If the chip can be reflashed then you can install a new BIOS, if not then you can still install a larger hard drive, but you have to use PBL to load the new BIOS before you load your dashboard.

Work out which chip you have, then you'll know what options are available to you and we'll be able to help you install your new hard drive.

browll

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 02:08:00 PM »