xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?  (Read 787 times)

XboxNia

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« on: August 02, 2004, 03:21:00 PM »

I Noticed That A Lot Of People Are Asking About How To Get A Different Skin On Every Loadup... Well I Made A Simple / Cheesy Way To Do It Until It Is A Built In Feature On Your Unleashx.  

(Thanx To Jezz X For The Help On This Line)

<List Text="Shutdown" Batch="True">
<Item Action="Copy" Arg1="Yourfile" Arg2="Yourfile"></Item>
<Item Action="Shutdown"></Item>
</List>

Replace Your ShutDown Line With The Line Above...

Make A Dir Called skinchange In Your C: And Copy Over Your Config.xml
Edit Your Config.xml in the skinchange Folder And Rename Your Skin File Name

etc <Skin>UNLEASHED X3</Skin>
  change that to <Skin>3001</Skin>
or Whatever Skin You Want To Load Up Then Save It As Config1.xml


Now Edit Your ShutDown Line To Be This

<List Text="Shutdown" Batch="True">
<Item Action="Copy" Arg1="C:\skinchange\config1.xml" Arg2="C:\config.xml"></Item>
<Item Action="Shutdown"></Item>
</List>

So Now When You Reboot It Will Load That Skin...

Now The Work Part Of It Is That You Have To Make As Many Config.xmls As You Want Skins.. I Have 20 Configs Config1.xml Config2.xml Config3.xml etc..

Just Make Sure That You Have Your New Config.xml Have This And Continue With It Throughout The Configs

<List Text="Shutdown" Batch="True">
<Item Action="Copy" Arg1="C:\skinchange\config2.xml" Arg2="C:\config.xml"></Item>
<Item Action="Shutdown"></Item>
</List>

etc etc..

You Can Set It Up With The Reboot To If You Want It That Way As Well Just Make The Reboot Go From 20 - 1 So Its Not The Same Order As The ShutDown..

Downfalls Are If You Change Something In Your Config.xml Youll Have To Do It To All The Others..

Hope This Helps People Out If You Have Any Other Suggestions On To Improve This Idea Please Let Us Know.
Logged

fezzman

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 593
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2004, 03:52:00 PM »

Wow, it sounds like a lot of work but I believe that I may just have to do it.  I've waited for some time for a random feature and this may just hold me off until it is implemented (if ever).  Thanks for posting this.

beerchug.gif
Logged

Scaramanga

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 138
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2004, 05:13:00 AM »

Another problem with this method is that you must shutdown or reboot from the unleashX dashboard.
If you IGR or just turn off the xbox from the on/off button the skins won't be changed.
Logged

XboxNia

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2004, 12:23:00 PM »

well you can if your specific about your games

<List Text="Manhunt" Batch="True">
<Item Action="Copy" Arg1="C:\skinchange\config1.xml" Arg2="C:\config.xml"></Item>
<Item Action="F:\games\manhunt\default.xbe"</Item>
</List>

somthing like that.. but that will work too.. it will work with every situation.
Logged

ILLusions0fGrander

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3560
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2004, 04:43:00 PM »

seems like it would be adding too much clutter to my config.xml file..
its cool you found a way for all the people who want that tho!

personally, i stick with a dash skin for a while before i switch it.
Logged

gualber98

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2004, 06:56:00 PM »

nice work XboxNia beerchug.gif
Logged

XboxNia

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2004, 06:25:00 PM »

thanx im trying to make it moire user friendly as we speak thats just a rough draft.
Logged

potman09

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Want A Different Skin Everytime You Reboot?
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2005, 06:04:00 AM »

sry for bringing up this old thread, but ive been having a problem trying to get this work for almost a week now, only one problem i cant figure it out is where do i put the command "<skin>3001</skin>" to in the config1.xml?
Logged