xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Ps3 Laser Lights Up, Worm Gear Works. No Spindle Turning. Ideas?  (Read 112 times)

GamestationOH

• Archived User

Hello, I have only worked on 2 other PS3 so far. I have been repairing game systems since 1989. Laser systems since PS1 in 1995.

I would just like some info on laser calibration and experiences from others that have seen more bad PS3 that I have.

I have cleaned the laser, but the spindle doesn't turn. The worm gears move the laser back and forth. The laser lights and rises to focus.

Is it normal for the spindle not turn if the laser cannot identify a disc? The spindle doesn't turn even 1/4 a turn. It seems to be free to turn, is not binding.

Thanks in advance.

GamestationOH

• Archived User
Ps3 Laser Lights Up, Worm Gear Works. No Spindle Turning. Ideas?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2008, 03:55:00 PM »

I guess no one here has worked on PS3 lasers...

Chancer

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2008, 04:39:00 PM »

On every drive the spindle motor spins up so the laser can read the TOC. The PS3 is no different. Cleaning the Laser is not a cure for no spindle motor rotation.
These type of faults are easy to identify on any deck (are you sure you repair systems or is it just a hobby?) But can have a complex cause.Disconnect the motor and connect a bench PSU to it or hook a battery across it to see if it spins. This is an easy way to tell if the motor is the cause.
Have you measured the drive to the motor off load? Is there any drive present.
Usually it would be the Drive motor or the drive IC.

GamestationOH

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2008, 03:54:00 PM »

QUOTE(Chancer @ Mar 8 2008, 01:15 AM) View Post

On every drive the spindle motor spins up so the laser can read the TOC. The PS3 is no different. Cleaning the Laser is not a cure for no spindle motor rotation.