xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Dosxbox *sob*  (Read 414 times)

gwood1234

• Archived User
Dosxbox *sob*
« on: March 05, 2013, 09:47:00 AM »

Hi Johnny,

I'm no expert but you could try it out in PCSXBOX? There was a Playstation version of the game so maybe get hold of that. Have you been introduced to Coinops or Visionary yet? It might run better in that and I would definitely recommend getting hold of Visionary Lite to run all your emulators! Plus, it supports Dosxbox games too.

All the best
Gareth

johnnyxbox

• Archived User
Dosxbox *sob*
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 11:28:00 AM »

PSX version just doesn't spark up the nostalgia that the actual PC version would.
Thanks for the tips...I didn't know Visionary ran dos...I'll give it a shot, though I just think it's a setup issue and not Dosbox itself.

gwood1234

• Archived User
Dosxbox *sob*
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2013, 04:06:00 AM »

I've never had any luck with Dosxbox either, I'd love to play X-Wing again but unfortunately it won't run very well even though it's like 20 years old! Good luck with Vision.

johnnyxbox

• Archived User
Dosxbox *sob*
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2013, 09:57:00 PM »

Honestly I would give up but I read a compatibility list and they said they got it to run.  It pisses me off to no end.  Look at how well Doom 2 and Quake run on the xbox.  They should just release the damn source code.  I know it will run.  I'm just screwing up the drive information.
If anybody knows dosbox well I could still use some help.

madmab

• Archived User
Dosxbox *sob*
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2013, 11:29:00 PM »

comatibility list.. huh?

Doom 2 and Quake were straight ports from code released by ID.  I presume you are referring to those.

Dosxbox has nothing to do with the two above games.

Source code?  X-port released the source code for Dosxbox years ago.  As for Lucas Arts.. good luck getting them to release the source for Dark Forces.  ohmy.gif

johnnyxbox

• Archived User
Dosxbox *sob*