xbox-scene.com archived forum

Author Topic: Hdprepar Help  (Read 148 times)

tocath

  • Archived-User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Hdprepar Help
« on: July 05, 2004, 07:08:00 PM »

Hey, I'm using HDprepar (v13, I think) on a 160gb drive.

The tut I'm using says to zero out the first 4096 sectors.

I run the program, and start zeroing, but it seems to take forever, showing only 6 bars completed after about an hour.  I suspect that it is somehow trying to zero out the whole drive, but I'm not sure.  Is this normal?

Is there any way I can make it zero only 4096 sectors?
Logged

tyronemcbg

  • Archived-User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Hdprepar Help
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2004, 12:38:00 AM »

Just use 'Slayer 2.5'.  It will prepare and format the hard drive.  Then it will configure and install all the necessary apps you need.  It will do it all automatically for you, then you can configure the dash to your own taste.  The whole process takes less then 10 minutes, and is as easy as pressing 1 button.  My dog could do it!!! http://forums.xbox-scene.com/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />
Logged

tocath

  • Archived-User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Hdprepar Help
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2004, 01:21:00 PM »

Thanks, tyrone.

I'm using a softmodded XBOX, and from what I understand, the Slayer Disc requires you to have a chip installed so it can boot.  Correct/Incorrect?

Any way, i figured out that I was using an incorrect version of Hdprepar.  Found the right one and the problem straightened itself out.
Logged