xbox-scene.com archived forum

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - cerealkillajme

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 72
1
Newbie Chat / Hitachi 47 Freezes In Windows
« on: April 07, 2012, 09:45:00 PM »
Spent about 5 or 6 more hours on it today. In total I spent about 20 hours messing with this one.

I successfully got the drive flashed. I switched back to using the VIA 6421 with the drivers removed. I noticed that if I sent a "ram upload" command to the drive, I needed to do it within the first few seconds of the drive going into Mode B (via JF Mode B command). I noticed that if I did it within about 3-4 seconds it would start dumping the flash and then hang. If I did it within 2-3 seconds it might dump the flash, then hang while flashing (2 sectors flashed and then the rest got "ram upload failed" I thought I nearly bricked the drive 2x this way FFS). Finally when I did it within about 1 second it worked and dumped and flashed everything.

So here is the final process I had to use (power supplied by 360).

1. Open JF with "via ports only" and "port IO"
2. Select FlashLT
3. Send the Mode B command (open drive, power off, hit OK)
4. Power on 360
5. Mode B command done message, hit "flash LT" (ram upload) within about 1 second.
6. Should do a full dump and flash.

I've flashed over 100 360s and I can honestly say this was the hardest one of them all and the only one I felt like I was even close to bricking at any point.

2
Newbie Chat / Hitachi 47 Freezes In Windows
« on: April 05, 2012, 07:12:00 PM »
Back from the dead...  ph34r.gif

I've modded about 100 360s in the past, but have been out of the loop the last 3 years for the most part. I've done a few Samsungs and BenQs for friends, but I haven't touched a Hitachi in years...

The drive is a stock 47DG. I'm using JF and have managed to dump the FW over both WinAPI and PortIO, but I can't get the thing to flash.

I have 3 SATA cards:
VIA 6421 (removed VIA drivers per JF tutorial and used PortIO)
Sil 3512A (I'm pretty sure this is the card I used to use for Hitachi drives back in the day)
Highpoint Rocketraid 1520 (pretty sure I did my first Samsungs with this and got the VIA 6421 when the ms28 came out)

I have been able to get the drive into mode B using PortIO and WinAPI. I get a drive letter in JF and Windows using the Sil 3512A card and WinAPI, and the drive responds to the query command as well.

But whenever I try to flash the FW over WinAPI it says "Dumping:." and freezes JF until I shut the 360 off.
Whenever I try to flash the FW over PortIO it says "drive Unlocked and mode select or ram upload failed".

Mode B confirmed by 2 button press, and the drive gets assigned a letter.

I have tried all of this on 2 different PCs.

I'm kind of at a loss and feel that I must just be overlooking something small at this point.

3
Newbie Chat / Emulators Not Showing Up In Menu When Placed In G:\
« on: November 30, 2007, 12:01:00 AM »
Moving to XBOX 1 Newbie Chat  (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

You need to edit the .ini file of each emulator and point the roms path to G instead of F.

This post has been edited by cerealkillajme: Nov 30 2007, 06:03 AM

4
Newbie Chat / Flubber Intro - Get Rid?
« on: October 30, 2007, 09:07:00 AM »
You need a bios that doesn't have the flubber bootup. IIRC you can do it with an X2 bios and the bios editor for X2 bioses (can't remember the name of the editor).

And moving to newbie chat, this has nothing to do with EvolutionX dashboards and you'll get much more help over there.  wink.gif

And BTW if your softmodded, this is impossible to remove.

5
Newbie Chat / Softmod Without Games Or Memory Card?
« on: August 17, 2007, 03:55:00 PM »
QUOTE(obcd @ Aug 17 2007, 03:03 AM) '*'

Hi,

another possible approach is installing the modchip in the xbox you want to softmod.

You can run the slayers rescue package (or AID) and prepare the harddisk. You can install a softmod on the harddisk. Once you are done, you can lock the harddisk.

If you take the modchip out again, the xbox should boot it's softmod.

As long as the harddisks are lockable, they should both work.

regards.


Can also do the same with CASH.

There's a short guide to doing this if you click the link in my sig and read post #11.  (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

6
Newbie Chat / Xbox Hd Upgrade, Transfer From Chipped To Softmod Xbox?
« on: August 09, 2007, 02:40:00 PM »
Helps to put it in the right section.

Moving...

7
Newbie Chat / Slayer Cd To Hd?
« on: August 07, 2007, 10:17:00 PM »
You can use Qwix and extract the xISO of Slayers onto your PC. Then just browse for the folder with the C and E folders in it and those are the stock files. Then just FTP them over.

8
Newbie Chat / How To Install Avalaunch
« on: August 02, 2007, 02:29:00 PM »
http://www.xbox-modchips.com/xecuter3/X3_G...d_FAQ_V.2.0.pdf

That guide will help with installing the dash. Just follow the "dash installation" section.

Incase you haven't already, you'll need to flash a hacked bios on the chip before it's really usable. The best bios is the x3 3294 (use the 1.6 version of the bios ONLY if you have a 1.6, non 1.6 for all others).

This post has been edited by cerealkillajme: Aug 2 2007, 07:31 PM

9
Newbie Chat / Removing Xbox Media Center
« on: August 02, 2007, 01:27:00 PM »
I do not advise following the info posted above.

First off, Slayers is for Modchips, not for softmods. If you try to wipe the drive with the wrong softmod you only screw things up worse and make it harder to fix. Slayers can be a great tool, but when used with softmods it can really screw you up if you pick a wrong option.

Secondly, SID's softmod is crap and nobody here recommends it. Krayzies Ndure v1.1 (+v1.1.1 update kit) is the best softmod in existence and by far the safest.

If you modded it years ago then you do have an old softmod, which Slayers will probably work with though.

You could just boot the game you modded it with (Spliter Cell you said) and select the option from the list to "restore to stock" or something along those lines.

You could use Slayers to wipe if you feel it's old enough.

You can get CASH v1.1 and wipe it and go back to stock also. It can wipe any softmod except SID 4.0 or higher.

Also there is a tutorial for removing softmods in the .xbe exploit section you can follow which is pretty much what you described with deleting things via FTP. Here it is, http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=426328' class='bbc_url' title=''>http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=426328

10
Newbie Chat / How Can I Unmod My Xbox
« on: June 25, 2007, 11:24:00 AM »
http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=426328' class='bbc_url' title=''>http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=426328

There, the tutorial that was 4 posts down in the "XBE Exploits" section.

And in the future, bumping your topic in less than a 24 hour period is looked at as rude, and you will possibly receive a warning in the future if you do it again.

11
Newbie Chat / Installing Softmod Exploit Without Game?
« on: June 21, 2007, 10:37:00 AM »
I closed your other topic. Don't make the same topic in 2 parts of the forum again. In the future post it in the one it best fits in and if it doesn't belong a mod will move it for you.  wink.gif

No, if your not going to use a gamesave+disc then you have to hotswap to softmod.

12
Newbie Chat / Modchip Bios Flash
« on: May 09, 2007, 04:07:00 PM »
QUOTE(3800sc @ May 9 2007, 02:53 PM) '*'

Ok.. but in my defence, I DID check to see if they posted and they werent there.
Just anxious to get this up and running, its been 1 problem after another trying to get it to work.  I appologize if I came off as rude (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Will evox M8 or x2 work with my chip?  And are they available from the usual places?



It's cool man, just wanted to be sure you knew you were doing that and stopped you before I moved more threads, lol.

Either of those bios's will work with your chip (sorry I missed muppetX menu in your first post). And yeah they can be found in the usual place.

Also, if your box is a 1.6, be sure to use a 1.6 bios, for all other versions the non 1.6  bios is fine.  (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

This post has been edited by cerealkillajme: May 9 2007, 09:08 PM

13
Newbie Chat / Modchip Bios Flash
« on: May 09, 2007, 01:32:00 PM »
You didn't really need to make 6 threads for this.

I understand the site has been timing out alot today, but still... Maybe wait to see if the thread posted before creating another one.

All dup topics were moved to garbage.

_________________________



We can't tell you the bios you need if you don't tell us the chip, lol. Each chip can use different bios's, so we need to know the chip first.

3 boot and frag is not normal. Check over your install, probably a bad joint somewhere.

This post has been edited by cerealkillajme: May 9 2007, 06:38 PM

14
Newbie Chat / Why Can't I Write To My C Drive?
« on: May 10, 2007, 11:42:00 AM »
It sounds like the virtual eeprom is blocking you from making changes. I'm not very experienced with XBOXHDM/PC softmodding, but I believe you need "Ndure toolset" and that will allow you to make changes to your real or virtual eeprom. That's about as much as I can offer on that.

Other than that (I know this works with gamesave style softmodding) you can remove the softmod and go back to stock, then make the changes to your M$ dash as needed, then once you have everything the way you want just softmod it again and your changes should be saved.

15
Newbie Chat / Why Can't I Write To My C Drive?
« on: May 08, 2007, 04:41:00 PM »
QUOTE
also consider that all of the default drives that come with an Xbox are locked meaning they can't be written to on the primary partition were all the system crucial files are stored, which just happens to be the C drive in this case.


That is not correct. The drive is locked, and C is the main partition, but you can overwrite C anytime.

The reason he can't overwrite/edit his C is the Shadow C.

And as above said, you shouldn't be editing C. Shadow C prevents the M$ dash from being updated and is also a very nice protection against people that don't know what they are doing.  (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Now... why do you want to edit your C?

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 72