xbox-scene.com archived forum

Xbox1 Forums => Xbox Online Gaming (Xbox Live, Xlink, and others) => XLink Kai Forum => Topic started by: AngryFace on March 25, 2007, 03:17:43 PM

Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: AngryFace on March 25, 2007, 03:17:43 PM

I have it running on XBMC so I am able to select games and everything from my xbox while the engine is running on my computer. Can I install xlink kai engine on my router so I will never have to run it on my pc to play? If so, what is the file called that I would need to install on my router and where can I get it? Will I be able to get online in xlink kai any time I want as long as my router is on? Will it slow down the internet for the computers in my home network? Will my firewall built into the router still protect every computer in my home network?




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: MeanMF on March 25, 2007, 06:30:04 PM

If your router is compatible, the latest builds of DD-WRT (v24, 2/28/07 or later) come with kaid preloaded on them.  Check it out at www.dd-wrt.com.

It won't slow things down any more than running Kai on your PC, and it doesn't affect security any differently either.




Edited by MeanMF, 26 March 2007 - 02:30 AM.


Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: LycoLoco on March 26, 2007, 08:12:48 AM

Also, if you decide to do this after finding out that you have a compatible router, read ever single last word in the wiki. If you screw up your router while flashing it, you'll have a new doorstop.

http://www.dd-wrt.co...D-WRT_Docu_(EN) (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php?title=DD-WRT_Docu_(EN))

Hope this helps!




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: freesafety13 on April 20, 2007, 04:38:46 AM

I would like to add that my WRt54GL has dd-wrt_v.24_beta_generic on it and it doesnt have the kai engine on it.  Am I missing something here.




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: c-2 on April 20, 2007, 05:45:16 AM

24 is still beta .. did you try 23 ?




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: freesafety13 on April 20, 2007, 07:59:05 AM

yeah, it's not on 23.  Thats why I switched to v.24.  I'm wondering if I need to use the dd-wrt v.24 wrt54G or GS firmware.  I own a GL but it is only compatible with generic.  It would be great to start and stop the engine without having to go to my pc to do it.




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: MeanMF on April 20, 2007, 09:14:34 AM

It should be there on v24.. You might be better off asking in the DD-WRT forums: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/ (http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/)




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: freesafety13 on April 30, 2007, 04:31:12 AM

yeah, I've tried their forums without any luck.  And as of Fri. April 27th I cant even get onto the dd-wrt webpage, I believe its down.




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: c-2 on April 30, 2007, 07:09:04 AM

page works fine here .. just downloaded the latest v24 build this morning .. didn't notice if it has kaid in it yet but i'll check it out tonight ..

http://www.dd-wrt.com/ (http://www.dd-wrt.com/)




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: sephiro499 on May 25, 2007, 09:53:54 PM

Did they fix KAID support in v24?  I have v23 and the kaid support is buggy at best.  Normally after a few matches you have to stop and restart the kaid service in ddwrt since it just stops working.




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: Reaper67 on June 20, 2007, 11:04:44 AM

Do I need to have my Pc on to work




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: c-2 on June 20, 2007, 12:15:04 PM

not unless your router can run kai .. only the Linksys WRT 3.1 or earlier are able to .. other routers may be able to if you can flash to DD-WRT and run kaid.. www.dd-wrt.com ..




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: hfmls on November 15, 2010, 07:26:43 AM

i have in my wrt54g v2.2 router v24 and i have kai option, i have an option to put ports user and pass.
i activated all in router, no what do i have to do guys? do i still need kai running in my pc?
thank you




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: c-2 on November 16, 2010, 10:46:45 AM

you need to load kai on your computer to have a UI .. if your using an older XBMC build or the 360 dash with kai built in you do not need to open it on the computer.  the router is the engine.






Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: distort1 on December 13, 2010, 07:21:07 PM

i read somewhere that kai support for routers was discontinued, but the dd-wrt firmware still has it built in someversions. So does it still work? I tried but could not get it to work on my router.




Edited by distort1, 14 December 2010 - 04:29 AM.


Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: c-2 on December 18, 2010, 08:15:02 AM

it should still work .. you have to make sure your router is compatible.  did you add the mac addresses ?




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: Janeshi on December 20, 2010, 05:56:47 PM

As far as I know, xlink kai is not longer supported for routers (look at the official page). I have an asus rt-n16 and I couldnt find a way to make xkai works on it.




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: Chrisoldinho on March 23, 2011, 12:03:02 PM

just to revive this dead thread, incase anyone is interested, the only thing wrong with kaid in newer versions of dd-wrt is it requires uclibc, thankfully we can get this easily by simply installing OTRW (google it) then you can add this to your /etc/init.d (name it something like S85kaid) and chmod 0755:-

CODE

#!/bin/sh
NAME=kaid
[ -e /tmp/kaid.conf ] || exit
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

if [ -z "$1" ]; then
    case `echo "$0" | sed 's:^.*/\(.*\):\1:g'` in
        S??*) rc="start";;
        K??*) rc="stop"
    esac
else
    rc="$1"
fi

case "$rc" in
    start)
        echo "Starting: $NAME"
        touch /tmp/kaiEnginePersist.txt
        chmod a+w /tmp/kaiEnginePersist.txt
        /usr/sbin/kaid -c /tmp/kaid.conf
       ;;
    stop)
        if pidof $NAME 2>&1 >/dev/null; then
            echo "Stopping: $NAME"
            killall $NAME 2>&1 >/dev/null
        fi
       ;;
    restart)
        "$0" stop
        sleep 1
        "$0" start
       ;;
    *)
        echo "Usage: $0 (start|stop|restart|usage)"
       ;;
esac
exit 0


Hope this helps someone, it works perfectly now - FSD can see the engine again and online play without a laptop is once more possible smile.gif




Title: Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?
Post by: johnney5 on April 01, 2011, 12:35:36 PM

QUOTE
you need to load kai on your computer to have a UI .. if your using an older XBMC build or the 360 dash with kai built in you do not need to open it on the computer. the router is the engine.


Having the old copy of XBMC in addition to DD-WRT works 100% without the need for a PC, correct? Or do you have to do Chrisoldinho's workaround no matter what?

Here is my version of DD-WRT:

CODE
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) std
(SVN revision 13064)


The whole OTRW thing sounds a bit confusing.