xbox-scene.com archived forum

Xbox1 Forums => Software Forums => Xbox Bioses => Topic started by: shepd on December 27, 2004, 02:28:53 PM

Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: shepd on December 27, 2004, 02:28:53 PM

So I finally got a v1.6b in my hands for more than 5 minutes.  I finally found the patches shallax made to cromwell and I merged them in.  I believe this is what Team Xecuter did for their 3.0.3 release to get it working on v1.6b, and without their source, I can't be sure.  But in any event, I'm naming this unauhorized release 3.0.3.

This flashBIOS works with MANY, MANY, MANY chips (I think there's about 100 definitions in the source now).  I also threw in the EEPROMs pointed out to me by Bayshido (thanks!), meaning this BIOS has good EEPROMs for all versions 1.0 - v1.6.  Now you should be able to emergency fix all XBOXes.  I have no idea how good these EEPROMs are because I haven't had a reason to do an EEPROM repair for a long time, so most definately YMMV.

I wouldn't be surprised if this diff'ed quite similar to the source for the DuoX FlashBIOS edition chip.   tongue.gif

If you aren't comfortable destroying the data in your EEPROM, don't select the EEPROM flash option!  It's there as a last resort for people who have corrupted their EEPROMs and can't fix them any other way.

Please enjoy this release, I know it's made me quite happy.   biggrin.gif

As usual, source:

http://www.soiledbin...horized.tar.bz2 (http://www.soiledbinaries.com/flashbios/flashbios_x3_303-unauthorized.tar.bz2)

Binary:

http://www.soiledbin...rized/image.bin (http://www.soiledbinaries.com/flashbios/cromwell-3.0.3-unauthorized/image.bin)




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: bucko on December 27, 2004, 04:07:07 PM

GREAT WORK, sure it will come in usefull. beerchug.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Bayshido on December 28, 2004, 03:58:15 AM

I'm goin to flash it add night so i will be back with a replay.
And thnx shepd . beerchug.gif




Edited by Bayshido, 28 December 2004 - 12:59 PM.


Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Bayshido on December 28, 2004, 04:21:30 PM

hihaaaaaaaaaaa it's working M8  cool.gif  beerchug.gif  good job shepd
So now you have it all beerchug.gif
I'm just so happy  tongue.gif




Edited by Bayshido, 29 December 2004 - 01:22 AM.


Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: luketoh on December 28, 2004, 07:34:00 PM

Hi Shepd,

  Works great!  Thanks for the hard work!







Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: luketoh on December 29, 2004, 01:38:24 AM

Hi Shepd,

  Just wondering, on my 4:3 TV, the boot screen seems stretched over to the right.  Is there some tweak or settings to make it fit?

Also, you may want to mod the network flash screen when viewed on the PC, so that it's more inline with it running on cheapmods. smile.gif







Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: dcmad on December 29, 2004, 05:10:09 AM

nice work m8, cant get the links to work though sad.gif

DcMaD




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: shepd on December 29, 2004, 08:35:15 AM

Thanks for all the support and testing guys!  beerchug.gif

Just wondering, on my 4:3 TV, the boot screen seems stretched over to the right. Is there some tweak or settings to make it fit?

I've had the same thing happen.  The result seems dependent on the video encoder.  I still don't understand why.  Sometimes it is stretched vertically too, or the text seems smaller.  It always ended up working, so for now I'm letting sleeping dogs lie.  Perhaps there's another patch in the main cromwell source I'll come across that I can squeeze in, though.  smile.gif

Also, you may want to mod the network flash screen when viewed on the PC, so that it's more inline with it running on cheapmods.

Yeah, last time I used it it looked odd.  I forgot all about that for this release.  I'll fix it up next time.  Thanks!

nice work m8, cant get the links to work though

My ISP is dirt cheap, but that comes at a price of not always being able to get from point A to point B (or back!).  I have a second link that's slower but more reliable.  I'll throw the files up there later tomorrow.

Thanks again!




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: luketoh on December 30, 2004, 10:19:54 AM

Hi guys,

 Just wanted to report a case where the 3.03 didn't work for me.  I just did a mod today on a 1.6 (Samsung rams) and it couldn't boot up.  The eject light blinks green, nothing on the screen.  Couldn't boot to ms bios either.

 So I swapped out the DuoX2 chip with another that I've flashed with M8_16+ and it worked.  That chip that had the 3.03 that didn't work, I put it onto a ver 1.3 machine and it worked.

  My conclusion is that in this case, the 3.03 didn't boot up on this particular ver 1.6a machine.  I'll monitor the situation for other 1.6a machines.

  Just FYI.  (nope, didn't try 2.70)











Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: wildjoker788 on December 30, 2004, 08:59:05 PM

This is the best, had a 1.6a  with a completly f*ed eeprom. now playing halo2 on it once again.

My Many Thanks to You...

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: shepd on December 31, 2004, 02:24:19 AM

BOO!  I have just had the same problem as luketoh!  sad.gif

Seems I can't have it both ways, with v1.6 original & v1.6b support in the same BIOS.  I will make a v1.6 supported release of this BIOS later, along with having a second server for the files.

My older BIOSes did boot though.  Use them for now if you get a black screen.

Thanks for all the support again, anyways.




Edited by shepd, 31 December 2004 - 11:25 AM.


Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: luketoh on December 31, 2004, 06:44:46 AM

Hi Shepd,

  I'm using the DuoX2 chips now, so I guess I'll put 1 bank with 2.70 and the other with 3.03 smile.gif






Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: tranhgiang on December 31, 2004, 05:49:04 PM

I used it to restore my eeprom, work wonderful. I always put bank 1 with 3.0.1 official in case of trouble and it proved that I'm not wrong. (V1.6, Xecuter 2.6).

Thanks shepd
beerchug.gif  beerchug.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: stevenb01 on January 14, 2005, 04:11:10 PM

shepd, YOU ARE THE MAN!!!!  Thank you for rescuing my 'box!!  (V1.6, Xecuter 2.6).

-Steve




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: an01523 on January 27, 2005, 04:47:00 AM

thanks! it works! i just flashed a destroyed EEPROM on a v1.1 Xbox with this Flashbios v3.0.3. Now it is working again!




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: cryogenic on January 30, 2005, 04:37:40 PM

Links not working now sad.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: cryogenic on January 30, 2005, 04:46:10 PM

QUOTE(cryogenic @ Jan 31 2005, 12:43 AM)
Links not working now sad.gif

View Post






It's ok I got them from the usual source wink.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Angel-X on February 05, 2005, 04:00:13 PM

Shepd, thankyou ever so much for that file, I've been able to repair my sons XBOX with it.

You've made his day, here's to you  beerchug.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: ziadsa on February 05, 2005, 10:01:53 PM

hey guys, wondering if n e one can point me in the direction of how one loads this bin on x3 modchip? (trying to repair xbox too) tsop on xbos corrupted/erased/not operational, hd too, have no eeprom of xbox or C: E: backup eihter




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Bayshido on February 06, 2005, 03:56:52 AM

with http flash and ofcorse a working xbox to flash your chip




Edited by Bayshido, 06 February 2005 - 12:58 PM.


Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Angel-X on February 06, 2005, 08:27:08 AM

QUOTE(ziadsa @ Feb 6 2005, 06:07 AM)
hey guys, wondering if n e one can point me in the direction of how one loads this bin on x3 modchip? (trying to repair xbox too) tsop on xbos corrupted/erased/not operational, hd too, have no eeprom of xbox or C: E: backup eihter

View Post






Download the file, rename to bios.bin, put it on a CDRW and write it as a data disc using Nero.



When you get to FlashBIOS, go to write BIOS from disc (I think it's worded) and write it to the correct sized bank.



Then load up with that bank, you'll know you've done it right when you see 'FlashBIOS 3.0.3 Unauthorised'

Then go down to Flash EEPROM vx.x and make sure you select the right version of your XBOX, then put in a CDRW with the EEPROM.bin file that you want to write back to the XBOX.



Not sure what you name it because I put 3 copies on there named eeprom.bin, bios.bin and image.bin

Let it flash, it does it very quickly, less than a second.



All done.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Angel-X on February 06, 2005, 08:28:05 AM

Ah, just seen you've not got a backup.

Someone else is going to have to help you with that one.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Killer007 on February 08, 2005, 04:24:59 PM

This seems to be my problem also - ie no backup bios, no bios on any banks, can only boot into MS dashboard.

I'm new to all this - but it suggests to me that from the posts below if I create the CDRW as suggested, the xBox will then boot from the CD?? Is this right? Or have I missed a vital step?






Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: shepd on February 09, 2005, 10:00:02 AM

This BIOS cannot boot anything (except itself, biggrin.gif )

Your CD/DVD needs a file, "bios.bin" (there's a bunch of other names that will work, too, I'll post a list next time -- not that it matters).  This file is a copy of the BIOS you wish to flash overtop of the flashbios.  For example, you could put EvoX M8 on your disc as "bios.bin", select CD/DVD flashing from the menu, and insert that disc.  You need to use the correct filesize for your modchip, for Aladdin you would use 256k.  For some other mods, 512k, or 1MB.  It all depends on what you own.

I suggest you use DVD to flash from.  CDs of any type (even CDRW) don't work reliably in XBOXes.  If you find you put the disc in and the flashbios refuses to flash, that's because it can't read your disc.

BTW:  The disc must be in a standard ISO9660 format.  Not UDF, XBOXFS, or any other wacky stuff.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Nick1472 on February 13, 2005, 02:41:06 PM

That link isnt working anymore. Can anyone else email it to me or host it? I looked in the usual places, but couldnt find it....orpoint to where it is in the usaul places directory stucture. PM meif you can email it, thanks, Nick




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Nick1472 on February 13, 2005, 09:31:52 PM

Nevermind the above post....i found it and it worked great....thanks!




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 22, 2005, 11:39:07 PM

Im tring to use this on a V1.6A xbox using one of the aladin chips....


Someone changed the Video settings on this xbox to PAL...So now when it boots...all I get is a quick green then just red flashing fast (Eeprom Error)


I then flashed the chip with the FlashBIOS 3.0.3 Unauthorised....

I can tell the xbox likes it, but I get NO video.....

I bet I can get through the menu if someone was able to help me out.....

Need to know how many options down to Flash Eeprom for a V1.6A


Plz Help!

smile.gif




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: shepd on February 23, 2005, 02:55:17 AM

The patches that make this BIOS work on v1.6b make it a little sketchy on v1.6a.

Most (not all) v1.6a XBOXes will still work with this version if you just keep rebooting it a few times (shouldn't take more than 2 or 3 times).  Once it loads you're good to go.

I'll try to release a v1.6a-safe version next time I get some updates, but that will break v1.6b support.  sad.gif

It sucks that there's no good patch that lets cromwell work on either XBOX version.  Oh well.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 23, 2005, 08:34:15 AM

Ok....I tried turning off and on the xbox and I still dont get any video...

I also tried to use FlashBIOS 3.0.1 Unauthorised and got the same results....



Could someone plz just help me walk through the menu blindly???

I just want to get this xbox done...


I need to know how to get to the "reflash Eeprom for a V1.6A"  in the menu

How many optoins down in the menu is it?

Help Plz......




Edited by BaDvs3viL, 23 February 2005 - 05:36 PM.


Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 23, 2005, 01:30:30 PM

bump plz




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 23, 2005, 07:53:14 PM

anyone?




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 24, 2005, 07:32:49 AM

Could someone plz help me with this????

Even a ScreenShot of it would be helpful.....

QUOTE
Ok....I tried turning off and on the xbox and I still dont get any video...

I also tried to use FlashBIOS 3.0.1 Unauthorised and got the same results....



Could someone plz just help me walk through the menu blindly???

I just want to get this xbox done...


I need to know how to get to the "reflash Eeprom for a V1.6A" in the menu

How many optoins down in the menu is it?

Help Plz......





Edited by BaDvs3viL, 24 February 2005 - 04:33 PM.


Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 24, 2005, 04:22:45 PM

bump help bump




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: luketoh on February 24, 2005, 09:05:28 PM

HI,

   I don't have access to the flashbios at the moment, but if I don't recall wrongly, to flash the eeprom (which is supposed to be only if you really know what you're doing) is the last menu item.

Can someone help him?  Just confirm if flashing eeprom is the last menu item!








Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 24, 2005, 10:18:47 PM

Thanks man!!!!


Atleast someone looked...


hehe....


Lets say it is the last option......when I press it will the tray pop out and ask for disk with the eeprom.bin on it?....





Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: luketoh on February 24, 2005, 10:40:18 PM

Hi,

  I've never used that option before.  Not sure what it does, so didn't play with it, what with all the warnings and all. smile.gif  Hopefully Shepd here can reply to your questions soon.







Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: ASTRiDMan on February 26, 2005, 11:23:58 PM

shepd, wicked work...a few questions:

are 'dummy' EEPROMs embedded in your 3.0.3??

later posts in this thread suggest that you should put in a DVD-R with the desired EEPROM to be installed...BUT I've found that if you simply select one of the "Flash EEPROM 1.x" options with NO DISC in the tray...a msg still comes up saying "EEPROM Flash successful"

I presume that if no disc is in the tray (containing the desired EEPROM to be installed) that it reverts to 'dummy' ones embedded in the BIOS?

best,




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 27, 2005, 10:38:30 AM

Haha

This was going to be my next question....sort of...

Since I cant see becasue of no video....

But thanks to ASTRiDMan I got a screen shot to work with....

When I goto flash Eeprom for a 1.6 nothing happens, which goes with your question, since I cant see but I bet mine is doing the same thing yours is...

Should we just go ahead and have the Eeprom DVDR in before we even goto that option?...

Ill play with it and see what happens....cant get worse than it is now lol




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: shepd on February 28, 2005, 10:31:10 AM

The eeproms are embedded, and are the just public dumps of eeproms.  Since MS never bothered bunny about the eeprom dumps he made public, I figured they're fair game.  Nobody has given me any trouble about them yet.

This means you don't need to put anything on a DVD-R/CD-R to flash your EEPROM.

AFAIK, they're all NTSC, so PAL users might need to find a multisystem TV to work on until they get a valid PAL EEPROM.  I prefer it this way since in NTSC-land (where I live) it's virtually impossible to get a multisystem TV (A 13" model will run you at least $700 - $800 -- an absolute joke -- I use a Chinese TV -> VGA Box instead which handles ANYTHING).

Sorry I didn't get back to you, BaDvs3viL, but I didn't have an answer, since I hadn't done any XBOXes for a little while.

When you select the EEPROM option, it will just flash and leave the XBOX running, nothing else.  I should probably have the XBOX turn off, but it's not a big deal.

BTW, BaDvs3vil, generally if you get a black screen on boot the BIOS has crashed your machine, which means you probably won't get too far, sorry.  I think the second or third option down is to flash from DVD.  If you try those and find the DVD tray doesn't eject, you will need to get the XBOX to boot properly first (usually by using one of my older BIOSes).

HTH!




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: BaDvs3viL on February 28, 2005, 11:41:52 AM

QUOTE
Sorry I didn't get back to you, BaDvs3viL, but I didn't have an answer, since I hadn't done any XBOXes for a little while.

When you select the EEPROM option, it will just flash and leave the XBOX running, nothing else. I should probably have the XBOX turn off, but it's not a big deal.

BTW, BaDvs3vil, generally if you get a black screen on boot the BIOS has crashed your machine, which means you probably won't get too far, sorry. I think the second or third option down is to flash from DVD. If you try those and find the DVD tray doesn't eject, you will need to get the XBOX to boot properly first (usually by using one of my older BIOSes).



Well I was able to get a screenshot of the flashbios screen.  I knew the xbox was working with flashbios...I just didnt have any video....I used that screen shot and was able to choose the flash eerpom option for a 1.6 and it worked and fixed my xbox even though I couldnt see becasue of no video....

But eitherway it worked and did fix my box....






Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Roadkiller on March 01, 2005, 01:30:02 PM

uhh.gif  uhh.gif  uhh.gif  uhh.gif  uhh.gif  uhh.gif  uhh.gif

I have x2 Pro modchip on my xbox v1.2. I just wonder if l can use any hacked X3 bios on my modchip. I also have some other questions too:

1/ X3 Patcher Beta v1.1 by Yoshihiro and Hyperstar to edit features of the X3 2914 bios so you can flash on any mod chip. Is that right?

2/ X3 2914 BIOS hacked which tested on Smartxx modchip on xbox 1.6. Does anyone use this on any other modchip like X2 and on other xbox version?

3/  Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized" is X3 bios hacked, isn't it? will it work on my x2 pro modchip, xbox v1.2 ?
 
I am looking for an X3 bios hacked for my x2 modchip, xbox v1.2. Please help.
Thanks.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: modinside on March 08, 2005, 02:24:03 PM

where can i find this, i looked on xbins and didn't find it.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: modinside on March 08, 2005, 02:45:43 PM

ok i found it, it was there.




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: TYM4XTC on March 16, 2005, 06:01:59 PM

just wanted to say thank you and if you want i can host this info for you but wont unless i get the ok ......



let me know thanks

thanks to all that put this together saved me a few bucks for a new machine smile.gif


xbox4life.....@hawaii.rr.......com

remove all the extra ........................'s





Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: hippo on March 17, 2005, 11:13:19 AM

QUOTE
2/ X3 2914 BIOS hacked which tested on Smartxx modchip on xbox 1.6. Does anyone use this on any other modchip like X2 and on other xbox version?


I've booted it on a prototype CleverMod Sunday chip. I can verify that you can not split that bios and it takes the entire 1mb.


I have questions about adding support for the software locking block registers on the new SST49LF004A/B chips the flashbios source I have for 3.0.1-3 has the Device ID code included. SST makes the A chip and B chip on the same ID, crappy. Also the B version now widely available is software write protected in a method other than the SDP commands. My So-far- nonworking code looks similiar to this:

CODE

#define T_BLOCK_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS+0x30002)//0xFFBF0002
#define T_MINUS01_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS+0x20002)//0xFFBE0002
#define T_MINUS02_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS+65538)//0xFFBD0002
#define T_MINUS03_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS+2)  // positive 0xFFBC0002
#define T_MINUS04_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS-0xfffe)  //0xFFBB0002
#define T_MINUS05_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS-0x1fffe)//0xFFBA0002
#define T_MINUS06_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS-0x2fffe)//0xFFB90002
#define T_MINUS07_LK    (FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS-0x3fffe)//0xFFB80002
#define Unlock            0x00


as my defines then later I just tried to write to those locations that by default contain 0x01 and need tobe 0x00 to disable the software lock as per
This Data Sheet (http://www.sst.com/downloads/datasheet/S71232.pdf) pages 21 and 22.

CODE

                               Write(T_BLOCK_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS01_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS02_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS03_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS04_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS05_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS06_LK,0x00);
 Write(T_MINUS07_LK,unlock);
 Write(FLASH_BASE_ADDRESS+65538,0x00);



I've been able to read the values are indeed 0x01 like the datasheet describes after power up so my code is finding the right locations, then I got busy on other things. Obviously these code examples are really experimental. According to SST you don't need to use the SDP here is my email with them. Is there any chance of getting this included in the flashbios source?


The hardware write protection (WP# and TBL# pins) is independent of the
software write protection (block locking register).  The previous LPC
devices did not have the block locking registers.  All 8 block locking
registers default to write locked (data=0x01) at power-up, they must be
unlocked (data 0x00) before the user can write to the array.  These
registers are also reset to the write lock state after driving either
the RST# or INIT# pin to low.  Thus, you need to modify your code to
write data 0x00 to each block locking register (total 8 write commands,
the SDP sequence is not required) after every power-down/power-up or
reset.

   
Best Regards,

Silicon Storage Technology, Inc.





Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: diceman2003 on September 12, 2006, 10:05:19 PM

i have the folder with loads of other folders in it...i really need to know how i can get 303 unauthorized burned to a disk so i can use it...i have a spidergx with a total wreck for an eeprom right now and i need to figure out how to get this burned..any help guys...please




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: MrMajst3r on August 17, 2012, 01:38:59 PM

Could anyome re-upload Flashbios 3.03 Unauthorized?




Title: Flashbios 3.0.3 "unauthorized"
Post by: Movax on August 19, 2012, 08:19:25 AM

It's on xbins.