xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Can't Get Files Streaming From My Computer - Help?  (Read 349 times)

competes2win

• Archived User
Can't Get Files Streaming From My Computer - Help?
« on: February 11, 2008, 11:50:00 PM »

QUOTE(PetriesLastWord @ Feb 12 2008, 01:25 AM) View Post

I've been googling, searching forums, and experimenting for days now.  I'm new to XBMC, and got everything set up.  I'm able to FTP files and all that, but I can't seem to get the program to allow me to stream music, video, and such from my computer's hard drive.  I think I have everything enabled correctly, but I could (and probably am) wrong.  Does anyone know what might be my issue?  Is there some simple thing I may be overlooking?

To stream things from my pc to my xbox I use a UPNP client called Tversity I've never had any issues with it. I like it a lot actually. maybe you should look into that... I've tried and tried but never could get any SMB shares to work, I'm not exactly sure why, probably something simple but anyhow I quit trying on account that tversity works great anyhow.

Bomb Bloke

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2008, 04:45:00 AM »

SMB = Shares.

Create a share on your PC and add it to XBMC as a source.

If you have problems with this, read the friendly manual.

If you still have problems with this, provide some details on what you've got and what you've done.

Stefan Leroux

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 06:24:00 AM »

I wouldn't go for a PS3 until I'd messed about with XBMC quite a bit more.  Might be jaded opinion but if the SMB shares aren't working on XBMC, then you're aw well to try the other protocols first as well, before resorting to the expense of a PS3.